The Recorder's Office does not have every form needed for every transaction. Legal forms originate with Attorneys and Real Estate Professionals.
In order to comply with national standards, Iowa has adopted Document Formatting Standards. Senate File 371, effective July 1st, 2005, states that all documents presented for recording must meet certain requirements. Below are some the basic guidelines.
Paper: White, not less that 20 pound weight, without watermarks or other visible inclusions
Paper: One side only
Top Margin: At least 3 inches across the top of the document
Other Margins: Shall be minimum of 3/4 of one inch
Text: At least 8 point, legible & reproducible (10 point, fill in information)
Signatures: Black or dark blue ink - names typed, printed or stamped beneath signatures
Notary: State law requires that all instruments have signatures notarized. See Iowa Code, 9E. 14, 9E.15.
Information Required on 1st page (Cover Page):
Name, address & phone # of preparer
Name of taxpayer & complete address
Title of Document
Grantor's Name & Grantee's Name
Legal Description (if the space on the 1st page doesn't allow for the necessary information, the page where it is located must be noted.)
On or after July 1st, 2005, a document that does not conform to the document formatting standards shall not be recorded except upon payment of an additional recording fee of ten dollars per document or instrument.
In addition to the above, DEEDS require the following:
Revenue tax affixed to represent the full sale price over $500.00. Click here for tax calculator. If exempt from revenue tax, exemption must be so stated on the face of the document. Exemptions are listed in Code of Iowa Chapter 428A.2.
All deeds must be accompanied by a declaration of value form unless exempt (see above chapter 428A.2). This applies also to any documents of conveyance; Contracts and assignments of contracts on Quit Claim Deeds. Certain documents are exempt from the Declaration of Value.
Groundwater Hazard Statements are exempt on all conveyances that are exempt of Declaration of Value except LEASES AND PLATS.
- Groundwater Hazard Statement (pdf) Effective July 1, 2022, HF 2343 was passed. GWH statement needs not to be submitted or recorded with there is not conditions present and the following paragraph must be put on the deed: "There is no known private burial site, well, solid waste disposal site, underground storage tank, hazardous waste or private sewage disposal system on the property described in Iowa Code Section 558.69 and therefore the transaction is exempt from the requirement to submit a Groundwater Hazard Statement."
Recording Fees $7.00 for 1st page, $5.00 for each additional page
Change of Title
In addition to the above recording fees, Deeds, Change of Title, Condemnations and Contracts require an additional $5.00 transfer fee for each separate parcel of real estate involved. $50.00 Maximum Fee.
- Iowa Land Records Portal
- ILR E-Submission Video
- Iowa Courts Online
- Iowa Counties
- Iowa Assessors
- State of Iowa
- Secretary of State
- U.S. Government Official Site
416 Fourth Street, Suite 3
Calhoun County Courthouse
Rockwell City, Iowa 50579
Telephone: (712) 297-8121
Office Hours: 8:30am - 4:30pm
Cathy Voith Calhoun County Recorder
Kathy Hiler: Deputy Recorder
The Document Center provides easy access to public documents. Click on one of the categories below to see related documents or use the search function.
Documents sorted by HEADER in Ascending Order within category